CeFEO Paper Workshop

CeFEO organizes a paper-in-progress workshop each year that aims to enhance the scholarship of JIBS members and their publications.

The workshop focuses on aspects that are often significant barriers to publication:

  • Asking the right questions;
  • Identifying a significant theoretical contribution; and
  • Framing and presenting the study.

As such, participants are challenged to answer the following questions about their work:

  1. Who cares? What is the topic or research question, and why is it interesting and important in theory and practice?
  2. What do we know, what don’t we know, and so what? What key theoretical perspectives and empirical findings have already informed the topic or question? What major, unaddressed puzzle, controversy, or paradox does this study address, and why does it need to be addressed?
  3. What will we learn? How does the study fundamentally change, challenge, or advance scholars’ understanding?

Each participant receives feedback on her/his paper from two discussants (one internal and one external) as well as the audience.

The format is the following:

  • 5 minutes: paper presentation
  • 30 minutes: feedback from discussants
  • 10 minutes: Q&A from the audience

The workshop has been organized annually since 2014, and the 6th edition was held in December, 2019. A number of top-scholars in business administration have participated as external discussants in the past, including (in alphabetic order):

December 2019, discussants:

  • Ruth Aguilera (Northeastern University)
  • Ethel Brudin (Jönköping International Business School)
  • Cristina Cruz (Istituto de Impresa)

December 2018, discussants:

  • Carole Howorth (University of York)
  • Matti Koiranen (University of Jyväskylä)
  • Clay Dibrell (University of Mississipi)

June 2018, discussants:

  • Gianluca Colombo (University of Lugano)
  • Denise Fletcher (University of Luxembourg)
  • Josip Kotlar (Lancaster University)

December 2017, discussants:

  • Sara Carter (University of Glasgow)
  • Luis Gomez-Mejia (Arizona State University)
  • Johan Wiklund (Syracuse University)

December 2016, discussants:

  • Nadine Kammerlander (WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management in Vallendar, Germany)
  • Charmine Hartel (UQ Business School, Australia)

December 2014, discussants:

  • Michael Hitt (Texas A&M University)
  • Robert Hoskisson (Rice University)
  • Robin Holt (University of Liverpool)

Content updated 2020-02-11