ERSA Nordic Section

We are proud to announce that CEnSE co-director Mikaela Backman has been elected as secretary in the new board of the ERSA Nordic Section. 

The European Regional Science Association (ERSA) is the supranational grouping of national regional science associations across Europe. Under the umbrella of ERSA, there are 20 sections, organized either by country/ies or by language. Since the Nordic Section has remained relatively dormant in the last few years, ERSA president André Torre asked Charlie Karlsson, Professor Emeritus at Jönköping International Business School (JIBS), and Hans Westlund, Professor at JIBS and KTH Royal Institute of Technology, to propose a new board and to hold a meeting to restore the Nordic Section. 

The meeting and election was organized virtually on September 18, with approximately 30 participants from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. Martin Andersson, PhD from JIBS, was elected as chair of the new board. 

Virtual meeting of ERSA Nordic Section


Elected Board

Chair: Martin Andersson, Blekinge Institute of Technology (BTH), Karlskrona, Swedish Entrepreneurship Forum, Stockholm and Lund University, Lund (SE)
Secretary: Mikaela Backman, Jönköping International Business School (SE)
Treasurer: Magnus Andersson, Malmö University (SE)
Members: Daniel Rauhut, University of Eastern Finland (FI); Tom Brökel, University of Stavanger Business School (NO); Nino Javakhishvili-Larsen, Center For Regional And Tourism Research (DK); Grétar Þór Eyþórsson, University of Akureyri (IS)