Friederike Welter new ECSB Fellow

At the RENT conference in late November, Professor Friederike Welter was honoured as the 7th ECSB Fellow for her services to ECSB.

The European Council for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (ECSB) is a non-profit organisation whose main objective is to advance the understanding of entrepreneurship and to improve the competitiveness of SMEs in Europe. ECSB Fellows are recognised for their outstanding service to the field of entrepreneurship research or education and to the work of ECSB.

The 25th Anniversary RENT Conference took place in Bodø, Norway. The conference was hosted by University of Nordland and Nordland Research Institute, and co-organised by ECSB and EIASM. The main theme for the conference was “Entrepreneurial, Business and Society”.

Two long serving members of ECBS Board, Professor Friederike Welter and Professor Antti Paasio were awarded with the prestigious position of ECSB Fellow. With the nomination they joined the selected group of ECSB Fellows Jose Maria Veciana, Zoltan Roman, Roy Thurik, David Smallbone, Hans Crijns (Chair of Fellows) and Hans Landström. Professor Welter was president of the ECSB from 2007-2009.