The Academic Ceremony concluded Jönköping University's 25th anniversary

On Saturday, October 12, Jönköping University's (JU) Academic Ceremony was held with the inauguration of full professors and the conferment of PhDs at the culture hall, Spira.


It was a stately and ceremonial event with nearly 400 guests, dressed in ball gowns and formal attire, speeches and live music. During the ceremony, four new professors was inaugurated, three honorary doctors and 29 new doctors at Jönköping University were honored with their academic regalia: the doctoral hat and ring.

Both the current governor of Jönköping County, Helena Jonsson, as well as Gösta Gunnarsson, who was governor when Jönköping University Foundation came into existence 25 years ago, and the president of Jönköping University, Agneta Marell, gave speeches during the evening.

During the ceremonial part of the Academic Ceremony, Jönköping's Chamber Choir performed a number of classical Swedish works, Nina Åkerblom Nielsen sang and the dance company Carisma Dance Group performed a spectacular dance number.

During the ceremony the Badge of Merit and other awards was awarded. Jönköping University's Badge of Merit was awarded to Ingvar L Svensson, Professor of Foundry Technology at the School of Engineering. This year's Pedagogical Award was awarded to Tillan Strand at the School of Health and Welfare. The newly founded Per Risberg Memorial Fund scholarship was awarded for the first time to Anders Melander, associate professor of business administration at Jönköping International Business School.

When the ceremonial part ended, the guests mingled in Spira's foyer before it was time for the banquet at Campus Arena, which had been transformed into a stately banquet hall. Dinner was served here, and the guests were entertained, including a performance from the renown Swedish artist Titiyo.

All in all, the Academic celebration became a worthy and grand finale to Jönköping University's 25th anniversary!

Honorary Doctors

The Honorary Doctors awarded at the Academic Ceremony is Dale Clark Farran, Professor Emerita at the Department of Learning and Teaching at Peabody College, Vanderbilt University, USA, and is director of the Peabody Research Institute, Gwen Sherwood Professor Emerita at the Chapel Hill School of Nursing (UNC), University of North Carolina, USA and Andrés Rodríguez-Pose, Professor of Economic Geography at the London School of Economics, UK.

Academic ceremony 2019